Happy Hygge Holiday!

The word “hygge” is one that I have heard discusses since I arrived in Copenhagen. It’s one of those words that has no direct translation–it’s more of a concept than a word–and is supposedly a uniquely Danish thing. The adjective form, hyggeligt, literally means cozy. Hygge is much more complex but is very often associated with an extended gathering of friends or family, usually in the home, complete with plenty of delicious food, drinks, and candles all around. There is definitely a sense of coziness to it, but it is also about warmth, comfort, togetherness, and feeling content.

In other words, it is all the things I love about Thanksgiving. Thanksgiving has always been my favorite holiday because it is all about gathering with loved ones around a huge table full of food and just spending hours eating, talking, and enjoying being together. It’s about finding a cozy haven from the cold for a day with some great company, usually complete with candles or even a fire in the fireplace. If you ask me, it’s proof that hygge is alive and well outside of Denamark too. They may have a word devoted to it, but the States has an entire holiday.

I hope everybody back home has a fantastic Thanksgiving. I’m really bummed to be missing it, so enjoy it a little extra Thanksgiving hygge  for me! I love and miss you all. 

Image source: Courant.com TVEYE
Tell me what you think!

